Fellow Award

Fellow of the Academy

The Fellow Award is the most prestigious award given by the Academy. While other Academy awards honor members for outstanding achievement in a single area (e.g., teaching excellence, outstanding research, and distinguished service), the designation of Fellow is for a lifetime of achievement in the advancement of advertising scholarship, education, and service to the discipline. Thus, the Fellow is the Academy's broadest and most prestigious award. The basic requirement shall be evidence of a substantial contribution to the accomplishment of the objectives stated in Article II of the Constitution, evidenced by the following accomplishments:

  1. Principal responsibility for publication of significant contributions to advertising scholarship in recognized journals or in book form; and
  2. Recognition of a nationally known academic or practitioner who has contributed notably to the value and importance of advertising education; and
  3. Significant service contribution to advertising education at the college, university or professional level

The Fellows

Les Carlson
Charles Allen
Arnold Barban
Don Belding
Sidney R. Bernstein
Steuart H. Britt
Phillip W. Burton
George Clark
John Crawford
Barton Cummings
S. Watson Dunn
Ronald J. Faber
James S. Fish
Vernon Fryberger
Stephen A. Greyser
Melvin S. Hattwick
Harry Hepner
Don Hileman
H. Keith Hunt
Donald W. Jugenheimer
John D. Leckenby
Claude R. Martin, Jr.
Gordon Miracle
Joseph Phelps
Ivan L. Preston
Royal Ray
Leonard Reid
Jef I. Richards
Billy I. Ross
Herbert Jack Rotfeld
Kim B. Rotzoll
Charles H. Sandage
Jack Z. Sissors
Esther Thorson
Daniel Warner
Walter Weir
Gordon White
Robert Zacher