Executive Committee

The Executive Committee serves as the governing body of the Academy and is the final authority for all policies of the Academy. The Executive Committee is composed of the current AAA Executive Committee Members.

  • President: Eric Haley, University of Tennessee
  • President Elect: Harsha Gangadharbatla, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Vice President: Marc Weinberger, University of Massachusetts/ University of Georgia
  • Secretary: Jameson Hayes, University of Alabama
  • Treasurer: Laura Bright, University of Texas at Austin
  • Past President: Karen King, University of Georgia
  • Executive Director, Debbie Treise, University of Florida

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee recommends candidates for the Academy's Distinguished Service Awards, Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility, "Sandy" and Billy I. Ross Awards. Nominates and selects annual Outstanding Contribution to Research awardee.
Chair: Jisu Huh, University of Minnesota[email protected]

  • Charles "Ray" Taylor, Villanova University
  • Herb Rotfeld, Auburn University
  • Jef Richards, Michigan State University
  • Karen Lancendorfer, Western Michigan University 
  • Padmini Patwardhan, Winthrop University 
  • Pat Rose, Florida International University (ex officio)

Communication Committee

This ad-hoc committee is responsible for overseeing the associations' communications.
Chair: Anna McAlister, Endicott College[email protected]

  • Courtney Childers, University of Tennessee
  • Eun Sook Kwon, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Heather Shoenberger, Penn State University
  • Ho-Young (Anthony) Ahn, Pepperdine University
  • Jinhee Lee, Central Michigan University
  • Joonghwa Lee, University of North Dakota
  • Juliana Fernandes, University of Florida
  • Saleem Alhabash, Michigan State University
  • Soojin Kim, Louisiana State University
  • Taylor Jing Wen, University of South Carolina
  • Wonsun Shin, University of Melbourne

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee advises the Executive Committee on handling of monies and audits the Academy finances. Members may not be on the Executive Committee currently or in the past three years.
Chair: Russ Laczniak, Iowa State University[email protected]

  • Joe Phelps, University of Alabama
  • Jooyoung Kim, University of Georgia
  • Louisa Ha, Bowling Green State University

Global and Multicultural Committee (f/k/a International Advertising Education Committee) (GMC)

The Global and Multicultural Committee is responsible for examining the proper role of the Academy in international advertising education.
Chair: Claire M. Segijn, University of Minnesota[email protected]

  • Claire Segijn (Chair), University of Minnesota
  • Carrie La Ferle, Southern Methodist University
  • Chen Lou, Nanyang Technical University
  • Ilwoo Ju, Perdue University
  • Jing Yang, Loyola University
  • Mengtian (Montina) Jiang, University of Kentucky
  • Ode Amaize, Canadian University Dubai
  • Osnat Roth-Cohen, Ariel University
  • Pui Yuen (Vincie) Lee, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Sarah Turnbull, University of Portsmouth
  • Shu-Chuan (Kelly) Chu, DePaul University
  • Sun-Young Park, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Sydney Chinchanachokchai, University of Akron

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee promotes membership in the Academy.
Chair: Tae Hyun Baek, University of Kentucky[email protected]

  • Hojoon Choi, University of Houston
  • Jim Pokrywczynski, Marquette University
  • Joe Phua, University of Georgia
  • Regina Ahn, University of Miami
  • Samuel Tham, University of Tampa
  • Sara Champlin, University of North Texas
  • Summer Shelton, Idaho State University
  • Yan Shan, California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo
  • Yang Feng, San Diego State University

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee prepares a slate of officer nominations, conducts the election, and recommends candidates for Academy Fellows. Consists of the past three Presidents of the Academy.

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee makes policy, oversees Academy publications (including the Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Interactive Advertising), and selects the annual Journal of Advertising Best Article Award. By AAA Constitution By-laws (Article I-7), comprised of nine members, serving staggered four-year terms.
Chair: Sally McMillan, University of Tennessee Knoxville (2021)[email protected]

  • Hye Jim Yoon, University of Georgia (2021)
  • Les Carlson, University of Nebraska, Lincoln (2021)
  • Michelle Nelson, University of Illinois (2023)
  • Nathaniel Evans, University of Georgia (2023)
  • Patrick DePelsmaker, University of Antwerp (2022)
  • Ron Faber, University of Minnesota (2023)
  • Sukki Yoon, Bryant University (2020)
  • Wanhsiu (Sunny) Tsai, University of Miami (2022)

Research Committee

The Research Committee encourages research by members, solicits applicants for Academy research grants and dissertation awards, and selects the awardees.
Chair: Sigal Segev, Florida International University[email protected]

  • Chang Dae Ham, University of Illinois
  • Eunjin (Anna) Kim, University of Southern California
  • Glenna L. Read, University of Georgia
  • Huan Chen, University of Florida
  • Joeng-Yeob Han, University of Georgia
  • John Ford, Old Dominion University
  • Jorge Villegas, University of Southern Illionis
  • Joyce Wolburg, Marquette University
  • Kevin Wise, University of Illinois
  • Les Carlson, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Mark Yi-Cheon Yim, University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • Matthew Pittman, University of Tennessee
  • Nathaniel J. Evans, University of Georgia
  • Patrick Vargas, University of Illinois
  • Phillip Kitchens, University of Salford
  • Rick Wilson, Texas State University
  • Shelly Rodgers, University of Missouri
  • Wencheng Joseph Chang, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • Yoon Joo Lee, Washington State University
  • Kate Pounders, University of Texas at Austin